Jayna Hefford Next to Join Hockey Hall of Fame


Announced on the afternoon of Tuesday, June 26, CWHL legend and Thunder alumna  Jayna Hefford will become just the second Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) player to be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2018.

Hefford joins Willie O’Ree, Martin Brodeur, Martin St. Louis, Alexander Yakushev and Gary Bettman as the inductees for 2018.

A legend of the game both with the Brampton Thunder and Team Canada, Hefford delivered on an incredible career winning four Olympic gold and seven IIHF World Championships, while writing the CWHL record books. The dynamic scoring-threat was named CWHL MVP at the conclusion of the leagues inaugural season in 2007-08, also helping to lead the Thunder to the first ever CWHL championship that season. She then claimed the Angela James Bowl in 2008-09 as the CWHL’s leading scorer. Hefford blazed a trail of excellence setting the league record for career points (234) and goals (130), both of which were only recently surpassed by Les Canadiennes teammates Caroline Ouellette and Noemie Marin. Hefford remains the Thunder franchise leader in almost every offensive statistic, appearing in 128 games for the franchise from 2007 to 2013. Her CWHL legacy extends beyond her playing career with the introduction of the Jayna Hefford Trophy in 2015-16, an award annually handed out to the league MVP as voted by the players. The most recent recipient of the prestigious award was fellow Thunder player Jamie Lee Rattray who received the honour this past March as part of the 2018 CWHL Awards Show.

Hefford joins Boston Blades and Minnesota Whitecaps alumna Angela Ruggiero as the first two CWHL players to receive induction. Ruggiero entered the Hockey Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2015.

For the latest news and updates from the CWHL make sure to follow @thecwhl on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.