OTTAWA, Ont. – The Canadian Women’s Hockey League is thrilled to congratulate those honoured at the 2017 CWHL Awards Gala, held Friday night at the Kailash Mital Theatre at Carleton University in Ottawa.

The special event is held annually to recognize the best of the CWHL season, and helps kick off of celebrations leading up to the Clarkson Cup, awarded annually to the team that wins the league championship tournament.  The teams will hit the ice for the final face-off at 4 p.m. ET on Sunday with the game for this year’s CWHL bragging rights airing live on Rogers Sportsnet across Canada and in the USA and internationally on
The 2017 CWHL Awards Gala winners are as follows:

  • Humanitarian Award – Jessica Campbell (Calgary Inferno)
  • Coach of the Year  – Scott Reid (Calgary Inferno)
  • Rookie of the Year – Laura Stacey (Brampton Thunder)
  • Goaltender of the Year – Charline Labonté (Les Canadiennes de Montreal)
  • Defenceman of the Year – Meaghan Mikkelson-Reid (Calgary Inferno)
  • Angela James Bowl – Jess Jones (Brampton Thunder) and Marie-Philip Poulin (Les Canadiennes de Montreal)
  • Jayna Hefford Trophy – Marie-Philip Poulin (Les Canadiennes de Montreal)
  • Most Valuable Player –  Marie-Philip Poulin (Les Canadiennes de Montreal)
  • Chairman’s Trophy – Calgary Inferno

“We are so proud of everyone who won awards this evening, but also of each and every player, coach, sponsor, supporter and volunteer who has helped build our league over the past 10 seasons”, CWHL commissioner Brenda Andress said. “With each season, the CWHL continues to get bigger and better, both on and off the ice, thanks to everyone involved.”

Tickets for the 2017 CWHL Clarkson Cup Final, to be held this Sunday, March 5 at 4 p.m. ET are still on sale. Tickets are $20 and are available via Ticketmaster.

About the Clarkson Cup: First awarded in 2006 to Canada’s National Women’s Team, the Clarkson Cup was commissioned by the Right Honorable Madame Adrienne Clarkson, former Governor General of Canada. Her dream was to create a trophy that would be played for by North America’s top women’s hockey club teams. It was first awarded in 2008 to that year’s CWHL champions, the Montreal Stars. Since then, it has become a coveted prize for all female players and is widely regarded as the ultimate achievement in our game. In 2013, the Clarkson Cup was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

About the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL)

The CWHL is the most premier, professionally-run women’s hockey league in the world. It enables elite female hockey players to pursue their dreams of competing at the highest level possible, while enhancing the lives of others through exceptional athleticism, entertainment, and motivation. The league is centrally funded, with all participating teams in the CWHL receiving equal access to financial support and given the same opportunities to succeed. The CWHL is a not-for-profit organization, with every dollar going towards building a league that is dedicated to raising the profile of women’s hockey, providing a place for the best female players in the world to compete and inspiring the next generation of female hockey heroines.

About Scotiabank

Scotiabank is the Official Bank of the NHL®, NHL Alumni™, CWHL, Vancouver Canucks®, Winnipeg Jets™, Toronto Maple Leafs®, Ottawa Senators®, Edmonton Oilers® and the Calgary Flames® whose home arena is the Scotiabank Saddledome. The Bank also supports the Montreal Canadiens®. Scotiabank’s Community Hockey Sponsorship Program supports over 5,000 minor hockey teams in communities across Canada. To find out more about Scotiabank’s hockey programs, please visit

About the Ottawa Senators

One of seven NHL franchises based in Canada, the Ottawa Senators returned to the league in 1992 following a 58-year absence. Ottawa won 11 Stanley Cups during its original reign from 1903 to 1934. The modern-day Senators have captured four titles in the Northeast Division and a Presidents’ Trophy in 2002-03. Since 1992, the Senators together with its foundation, alumni, partners and fans have now contributed more than $100 million to community initiatives in the National Capital Region. For more information, visit