CWHL to Feature Six Teams in 2018-19


TORONTO  (July 16, 2018) – The Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) announced today, Monday, July 16, the 2018-19 season will feature six teams competing for the ultimate prize of the Clarkson Cup. The move was made with the contraction of the Shenzhen-based Vanke Rays, meaning the leagues 12th season will now feature: the Boston Blades, Calgary Inferno, Kunlun Red Star, Markham Thunder, Les Canadiennes de Montreal, and Toronto Furies.

“The decision to move to a six-team league for the upcoming season has been made with a lot of thought and discussion between all parties involved, including the players, our league administrators, and the Kunlun organization,” commentated Brenda Andress, commissioner of the CWHL. “This past season was monumental with our expansion to China but with it came many learning moments. We never want to be stagnant in the pursuit of improving our league and based on those learning moments we believe this is the right decision moving forward.”

The transition to six teams is intended to better accommodate travel, provide additional rest-days for players during trips to Shenzhen, and create easier coordination for KRS.

“Our travel to China last season was an incredible experience,” said Liz Knox, CWHLPA representative for the defending Clarkson Cup champion Markham Thunder. “From the players perspective, this change will mean even better competition when we make the trip over the Pacific this season.”

The next major event on the CWHL calendar is the 2018 CWHL Draft, scheduled for Sunday, August 26 in Toronto, Ont. The 2018-19 season will open just over a month later in October, with a full CWHL schedule to be released in the coming weeks.

About the CWHL

The Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) is the premier, professionally-run women’s hockey league in the world. With six current clubs throughout North America and China, it enables elite female hockey players to pursue their dreams of competing at the highest level possible, while enhancing the lives of others through exceptional athleticism, entertainment, and motivation. The league is a centrally funded not-for-profit organization, meaning all participating teams receive equal access to funding to ensure equal opportunity and competition. To learn more visit


Jordon Hall
Supervisor, Communications
[email protected]