TORONTO, Ont. –The playoff battles were intense but the stage has been set and it’s time for Les Canadiennes de Montreal and the Calgary Inferno to start sharpening their skates for the 2017 Clarkson Cup on March 5, 2017 in Ottawa. The Clarkson Cup, named after former Governor General of Canada Adrienne Clarkson and regarded as The Stanley Cup of women’s hockey is awarded annually to the champion of the Canadian Women’s Hockey League.

The two teams face off for the second season in a row with the Clarkson Cup on the line. Les Canadiennes return to the Clarkson Cup final for the 3rdseason in a row, their 6th trip in 8 years. The Inferno advance for the 2nd time in club history and seek to retain the Clarkson Cup they captured in 2016’s final in Ottawa.

Calgary Inferno (1) vs. Toronto Furies (4)
The Toronto Furies traveled to Calgary to face the Chairman’s Trophy holder Calgary Inferno in the first of the league’s two Clarkson Cup Playoff series. Toronto recorded a 5-2 victory Friday before Calgary surged back to take victory Saturday and Sunday games by a score of 3-1 in both games.

Les Canadiennes de Montreal (2) vs. Brampton Thunder (3)
In Montreal, the league’s second seed swept the visiting Brampton Thunder in two games, with a 7-1 victory Friday and 5-1 Saturday to make their way to a 3rd consecutive Clarkson Cup Final.

Tickets for the 2017 CWHL Clarkson Cup Final, to be held at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa on Sunday, March 5 at 4 p.m. ET are now on sale. The 2017 Clarkson Cup Final will be broadcast live on Sportsnet nationwide. Tickets are $20 with group rates available and can be purchased by visiting For group ticket information, please call 613-599-0247 or email [email protected]

Prior to the Clarkson Cup Playoffs, the CWHL also announced the finalists for the league’s major awards including Most Valuable Player. Winners and nominees for the awards announced include:

Coach of the Year

  • Scott Reid (CGY)
  • Dany Brunet (MTL)
  • Brian McCloskey (BOS)

Rookie Of The Year

  • Laura Stacey (BRA)
  • Renata Fast (TOR)
  • Iya Gavrilova (CGY)

Defenceman of the Year

  • Laura Fortino (BRA)
  • Meaghan Mikkelson-Reid (CGY)
  • Cathy Chartrand (MTL)

Goalie Of the Year

  • Charline Labonte (MTL)
  • Genevieve Lacasse (CGY)
  • Christina Kessler (TOR)

Most Valuable Player

  • Marie-Philip Poulin (MTL)
  • Jess Jones (BRA)
  • Brianne Jenner (CGY)

Jayna Hefford Trophy

  • Marie-Philip Poulin (MTL)
  • Jess Jones (BRA)
  • Ann-Sophie Bettez (MTL)

Angela James Bowl

  • Marie-Philip Poulin (MTL) & Jess Jones (BRA)

Chairman’s Trophy 
Calgary Inferno

The 2017 CWHL Awards Gala will be held in Ottawa on Friday, March 3rd at the Kailash Mital Theatre at Carleton University at 8pm. Tickets are on sale now via

For interview requests, please contact Sasky Stewart Director, Communications and Marketing at [email protected] or 647.780.5719

About the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL)
The CWHL is the most premier, professionally-run women’s hockey league in the world. It enables elite female hockey players to pursue their dreams of competing at the highest level possible, while enhancing the lives of others through exceptional athleticism, entertainment and motivation. The league is centrally funded, with all participating teams in the CWHL receiving equal access to financial support and given the same opportunities to succeed. The CWHL is a not-for-profit organization, with every dollar going towards building a league that is dedicated to raising the profile of women’s hockey, providing a place for the best female players in the world to compete and inspiring the next generation of female hockey heroines.

About the Ottawa Senators
One of seven NHL franchises based in Canada, the Ottawa Senators returned to the league in 1992 following a 58-year absence. Ottawa won 11 Stanley Cups during its original reign from 1903 to 1934. The modern-day Senators have captured four titles in the Northeast Division and a Presidents’ Trophy in 2002-03. Since 1992, the Senators together with its foundation, alumni, partners and fans have now contributed more than $100 million to community initiatives in the National Capital Region. For more information, visit

About Scotiabank
Scotiabank is the Official Bank of the NHL®; NHL Alumni™; CWHL; Winnipeg JetsTM; Toronto Maple Leafs®; Calgary Flames®, whose home arena is the Scotiabank Saddledome; and the Ottawa Senators®, whose home arena is Scotiabank Place. The bank also has a partnership with the Montreal Canadiens®. Scotiabank has a long tradition of supporting hockey in Canada from local teams and minor hockey associations to professional players and leagues. Across Canadian communities from coast to coast, Scotiabank’s Community Hockey Sponsorship Program reaches out to more than 4,500 minor hockey teams. To find out more about Scotiabank’s hockey programs, please visit Scotiabank is committed to supporting the communities in which we live and work, both in Canada and abroad, through our global philanthropic program, ‘Bright Future.’ Recognized as a leader internationally and among Canadian corporations for our charitable donations and philanthropic activities, Scotiabank has provided on average approximately $47 million annually to community causes around the world over each of the last five years. Visit us