All-Star Game

Each season, the CWHL All-Star Game is put on at the Air Canada Centre (ACC) in partnership with the Toronto Maple Leafs as an opportunity for fans to watch their women’s hockey heroes show off their skills in one star-studded event. Team captains, voted on by fans on the CWHL website, draft teams the night before the event from a pool of players selected by the league.

The inaugural CWHL All-Star Game took place in front of more than 6,850 fans at the ACC on December 13, 2014. Admission was free, and fans were treated to three 15-minute periods followed by a skills competition, all of which were aired on Sportsnet One in Canada and the NHL Network in the United States. Team captains were Charline Labonte from the Montreal Stars (now Les Canadiennes de Montreal) for Team Red, and Jessica Campbell from the Calgary Inferno for Team White. Team Red defeated Team White 3-2, with 40 players from all five CWHL teams taking part.

On January 23rd, 2016, more than 4,000 fans attended the second annual CWHL All-Star Game at the ACC, with $10 ticket proceeds going back into the community to grow the game of women’s hockey. Aired live on Sportsnet One in Canada, the event featured three 15-minute periods and a skills competition, and 34 players from all five CWHL teams. Team captains, selected through online voting, were Julie Chu from Les Canadiennes de Montreal for Team Black and Natalie Spooner from the Toronto Furies for Team White. Team Black defeated Team White 5-1. Furies defender Sena Suzuki became the first international player to take part in a CWHL All-Star Game.