As the sun sets on the 2016–2017 regular season, the CWHL is gearing up for the 2017 Clarkson Cup Playoffs. The Clarkson Cup playoffs kick off on Friday, February 24th as the top-seeded team, the Calgary Inferno, hosts the Toronto Furies at Carstairs Memorial Arena. Les Canadiennes de Montreal, sitting at second place at the end of the regular season, also play on the 24th as they start their best-of-3 series against the Brampton Thunder at Etienne Desmarteau.

The Clarkson Cup, named after former Governor General of Canada Adrienne Clarkson, is widely regarded as the Stanley Cup of women’s hockey. The two teams standing at the end of each best-of-3 series will meet at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa on Sunday, March 5th in the Clarkson Cup Final.

Given Calgary and Montreal’s records this season, it’s possible fans will be treated to a repeat of last year’s Clarkson Cup Final. However, Toronto and Brampton have proven their records are no fluke, and their highly-skilled players can be expected to put up a fight to win out their series.

2016-17 CWHL Regular Season Standings

  1. Calgary Inferno — (20-3-0, 40 pts)
  2. Les Canadiennes de Montreal — (17-5-2, 36 pts)
  3. Brampton Thunder – (13-10-1-0-1, 26 pts)
  4. Toronto Furies – (9-11-3-0-1, 22 pts)
  5. Boston Blades –  (2-20-2, 6 pts)

The Calgary Inferno and Les Canadiennes de Montreal, the top two seeds, will each host a best-of-3 playoff series at home, commencing this Friday, February 24th. As the first seed, Calgary will play host to the Toronto Furies, while Montreal will welcome the visiting Brampton Thunder.

2017 Clarkson Cup Playoff Schedule

Calgary Inferno (1) vs. Toronto Furies (4)

  • Game 1: February 24, 2017 – 8:00 PM MST – Carstairs Memorial Arena
  • Game 2: February 25, 2017 – 3:30 PM MST – Winsport Joan Snyder
  • Game 3 (TBD): February 26, 2017 – 12:45 PM MST – Carstairs Memorial Arena

 Les Canadiennes De Montreal (2) vs. Brampton Thunder (3)