The Canadia Women’s Hockey League has announced the finalists for the league?۪s major awards including Most Valuable Player to be presented at the 2016 CWHL Awards Gala on Friday March 11 2016 at the Brookstreet Hotel in Ottawa. This special event is held annually to recognize the best of the CWHL season and to help kick off the Clarkson Cup, awarded annually to the team that wins the league championship.

The 2016 Clarkson Cup will be played on Sunday March 13 2016 at 4pm at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa.


Angela James Bowl (Regular Season Leading Scorer)

Marie-Philip Poulin

Chairman?۪s Trophy (Regular Season Champions)

Les Canadiennes de Montreal


Rookie of the Year

  • Katia Clement-Heydra (Montreal)
  • Rebecca Vint (Brampton)
  • Elana Lovell (Calgary)

Defenceman of the Year

  • Lauriane Rougeau (Montreal)
  • Julie Chu (Montreal)
  • Laura Fortino (Brampton)

Goaltender of the Year

  • Genevieve Lacasse (Boston)
  • Charline Labonte (Montreal)
  • Erica Howe (Brampton)

Most Valuable Player

  • Natalie Spooner (Toronto)
  • Marie-Philip Poulin (Montreal)
  • Laura Fortino (Brampton)

The 2016 CWHL Awards Gala will be held on Friday March 11 at the Brookstreet Hotel, Ottawa as we celebrate the 2015-16 season and the achievements of the teams and their players. Tickets are on sale now at $250 a single ticket or $2,000 for a table of 10. Tickets can be purchased at Store.CWHL.ca